My Foot is Killing Me

I woke up a few days ago and my foot was killing me.  There was a sharp but inconsistent pain in the sole.  This throbbing annoyance was just enough to completely blow a whole painting day.   Every time  I sat down to work, my mind kept focusing on the pain and I could not focus on what I was doing.  Further, I was in a delicate phase of a new oil painting I was (am) working on and the work requires my full attention.

Point being: It’s amazing the simple small things which can kill a mood.  For those of you out there who are not artists in any form, know that motivation for creating is often fickle.  Some of the painting-a-day people can still piss out their terrible works, but for anyone who cares about painting or even some illustrators, a three-day foot pain can lead to the demise of the whole work.  It’s somewhat nice that I have no 9-5 job at the moment, other than the intense poverty which is a whole other problem towards working.

Comments are closed.

